Save a life. Don't text and drive.
Ohio Law Bans Texting While Driving
Gov. John Kasich signed House Bill 99 on June 1, 2012 prohibiting a person who is less than 18 years of age from using IN ANY MANNER, an electronic wireless communication device while driving and prohibits texting while driving. This bill was effective August 1, 2012.
If you are under age 18, it is ILLEGAL to use ANY electronic communication device
while driving in Ohio. This means:
No Talking - not on your cell phone, Bluetooth, Bluetooth speakers, On-Star
or any other similar device
No compuers, laptops or tablets
No playing video games
No using GPS (unless it is voice-activated or hands-free)
It is a PRIMARY OFFENSE and your first violation is $150 fine and driver's license
suspension for 60 days. Subsequent violations: $300 fine and driver's license suspension for ONE YEAR.
Adult Drivers: It is ILLEGAL to use a handheld electronic wireless communication device to write, send or read a text while driving in Ohio. It is a Minor misdemeanor with a fine of up to $150.